LuckyStar
  •  LuckyStar
  • 50.02% (Neutral)
  • Operations Topic Starter
Saturday, October 18, 2003 3:27:08 PM
I know they say once you go out on the road it is in your blood forever and you will get Spring fever and the such...but has anyone here successfully made it off the road and stayed away from traveling with the business for a number of years?? I am just curious because I used to "follow" a show when I was younger...I was intrigued and almost left with them when I was 18....but I was a good girl and went to college....one month after I graduated from college I went out on the road for about four years....then I got off the road got married(now going through divorce)...went back out on the road last year and am now trying to settle down again....I miss it out there terribly, but I know I need to have something put aside for when I get older.

I almost wish the industry was a little more developed where it was easier to pay taxes....maybe have some benefits....join a 401K and the such...I am just wondering if I will be a Y0-yo all my life with going back and forth on and off the road...[:)]

Any advise would be appreciated! Thanks!

Lucy
bdcbbq
Saturday, October 18, 2003 3:52:54 PM
I did. I was out for 7 years until I was 29. Left and went to college, got a MSW, and now am the Director of a counseling center for a medium sized university. I've been off the road since 1984. I go visit some old friends when they come through town and will take a shortcut to visit a fair or carnival when I'm out and about. I don't regret my time out on the road at all. Its just circumstances change and for me the carnival business was not compatible with my life goals and needs.
Bruce
2ndgencarnie
Saturday, October 18, 2003 8:24:32 PM
I can't imagine going one week much less one year or the rest of my life without being on the road... so good luck but Da Bair is the one to ask he has mastered that art.
coacoabeware
Saturday, October 18, 2003 8:49:45 PM