JustinJames
  •  JustinJames
  • 85.68% (Honored)
  • Operations Foreman Topic Starter
Sunday, February 5, 2017 9:23:55 PM
I spoke with Bradd Burton today... he informed me that our mutual friend, Dan Sobecki passed away this past week. Dan was known on MCW as Soda Guy. He was known throughout our industry and loved by many including many show owners. Dan would work rebuilding concession trailers and soda fountain machines over the years.

I called his # tonight and spoke with his brother offering my personal condolences. Dean was very thankful and appreciative of the calls he has received from several of us friends that Dan had... he had MANY. Details were sparse as it would appear Dean is awaiting more answers, but he said that Dan was found in his bed and appeared to pass peacefully.

Speaking for myself, I spent many hours chatting with Dan via phone or text message throughout the last 10+ years. As a younger generation manager, I would often seek his input on various ideas I would be considering. He was always a booster and never a knocker. This industry will miss him and his sarcastic wit... I will simply miss my friend.

Rest in eternal peace, my good friend Dan Sobecki 😞
IndianaTED
Monday, February 6, 2017 1:50:33 AM
I'm stunned...I just talked with Dan about two weeks ago.

Dan was always a great guy with me. Showing patience and sharing knowledge with me various times while talking the biz with an outsider, as I am. He was always my "go to" guy whenever I had questions or heard something or just wanted to talk carnival or Indiana University Basketball/Football.

I only met face-to-face with Dan once, a very nice meeting with him and Bradd Burton several years ago. I'll never forget that afternoon.

My sincerest condolences to his family and many friends.

Rest in peace Dan. You had a profoundly positive effect on my life, and in the end, isn't that all we're here to do?

Ted