johnroach100
  •  johnroach100
  • 58.22% (Neutral)
  • Maintenance Supervisor Topic Starter
Monday, February 27, 2012 1:46:51 AM
Tre and I are having a pm discussion about the worth of a college education in the outdoor amusement industry and I got to wondering how many people out there have had some college and what they thought of it's worth. A close friend said she wishes she had the 40k back, what do others think?
britt
  •  britt
  • 97.96% (Exalted)
  • Operations Foreman
Monday, February 27, 2012 8:10:42 AM
I know a lot of the Vivonas have college degrees, several are Duke graduates. Lots of others with college degrees out there. I am not employed in the industry but my degrees are woth close to 6 figures a year.
ridejocky
Monday, February 27, 2012 8:19:28 AM
I got my degree after I left the show, but it was and continues to be well worth the time, effort & money. It also would have been useful had I stuck with the show, and would probably be useful if I ever wanted to get back with it. Doesn't hurt to have something to fall back on either.

As far as the money, I'd of just spent it on something else. Keep in mind, the degree is good forever and never wears out.
Ride the Zipper?
Bowler Roller
Monday, February 27, 2012 1:09:54 PM
I know it's hard for young people to understand, but I couldn't afford to go to college, so I didn't.
Every crowd has a silver lining - PT Barnum
Shar6Lew
Monday, February 27, 2012 7:56:57 PM
I grew up on the road, but one thing I was always told was to get a degree in something.....you can always fall back on it and it never expires. I'm no longer on the road, but I do play local events with food/games of my own and now work for the Federal Government. The same can be said about farmers....do they really need a degree to do what they love....in this day and age they do.
massachusettsman
Monday, February 27, 2012 10:17:06 PM